Playing with flat beads ~ Jugando con cuentas planas

I have been itching to tatt Jane’s flat bead motif since she showed it last year. I bought some flat beads right away, and then left them at the bottom of a drawer… She had a nice play around with them, here are some search results for the differnt things she did with them on her blog. This could give you some ideas of what to make if you happen to win my April giveaway! There is also Sherry‘s super cute owl that has flat bead eyes too! Both patterns can be found on Jane’s excellent pattern collection page, but here are direct links to the patterns: “Star motif 2011” and “Owl family

El año pasadp Jane consiguió unas cuentas planas, y estuvo haciendo muchas cosas con ellas. El siguiente motivo me llamó mucho la atención, así que compré las cuentas… ¡y quedaron en el fondo del cajón! Con el incentivo de “hacer algo en frivolité que estuvieramos postponiendo” para el día internacional del frivolité el domingo pasado, más algunos comentarios en mi sorteo de Abril preguntandose cómo quedarían con mi hilo arcoiris, las busqué y puse manos a la obra. Otra idea que puede hacer quien gane es la lechuza que hizo hace poco Sherry. Está basada tambien en un patrón de Jane. Su página de patrones es un verdadero tesoro, acá incluyo enlaces directos a los dos patrones que mencioné: “Star motif 2011 (motivo estrella 2011)” y “Owl family (familia de lechuzas)

I used my hand dyed thread in size 40, and I got again the pleasant surprise that the colours work up perfectly, with the whole round using exactly two colour repeats. I did have to adjust the number of point and the stitch count, and to add thread as I had been very cheap and loaded just as much as Jane recommended, and with the extra points, I was just a bit short. I had a lot of fun with it! I started it on Sunday, celebrating international tatting day. Next time I think I’ll try it with thicker thread, as the bead looks a bit heavy with this…

Lo hice con hilo número 40 del que teñí yo, y tuve que adaptar un poco el motivo porque cuatro puntas no me alcanzaban para dar la vuelta a la cuenta. Otra vez (de casualidad de nuevo) el largo de los colores estuvo perfecto – ¡dos repeticiones dieron justo la vuelta! Estuvo muy divertido, si lo vuelvo a hacer usaré hilo un poco más grueso, porque la cuenta se ve un poco “pesada” en relación…

So, this is my first “giveaway item” post. I am planning on doing a few more before closing it on the 27th April. With 73 entries now, it is much more of a success than I expected – do not hesitate to join if you think you would enjoy the prize and haven’t done it already!

Este fue mi primer artículo sobre los regalitos del sorteo. Pienso hacer algunos más antes de cerrar la inscripción el 27 de Abril. Ya tengo 73 participantes, ¡un gran éxito! ¡No duden en anotarse si no lo hicieron todavía y les gusta el premio!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. janeeb
    Apr 07, 2012 @ 14:17:01

    Well done with the adjustment on the points – not easy to work out for a smaller thread. LOVE that thread – it really zings. I’m so glad you like the pattern too and I love what Sherry did to the owl.

    Reply

    • yavamoni
      Apr 07, 2012 @ 15:43:52

      I am glad you like what I did – The smaller thread was a challenge… And thank you again for all the patterns and techniques you share!

      I love the owl too!

      Reply

  2. Diane Cademartori
    Apr 07, 2012 @ 14:35:39

    I love the way your motif looks! The color placement of the thread worked out perfectly.

    Reply

    • yavamoni
      Apr 07, 2012 @ 15:41:22

      Thanks Diane! I too love that colour placement thing. Just lucky, though! My only effort when doing the hanking for dyeing was to have quite long repeats, as I wanted to fit the six colours in there, but other than that, it was just luck. Very happy it is working so well!

      Reply

  3. Marie Meissner
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 00:32:30

    What a wonderful giveaway! So many pretty items. Please add my name to the drawing. The tool your brother made looks very interesting.

    Edited: I copied your comment to the other post to keep track of entries!

    Reply

  4. louinet
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 10:44:20

    don’t you just love Jane’s “Star”—it was the early bird design at Tat days last year and I have made it several times, including once with a tiger’s eye flat bead and yellow thread giving a stylized sunflower effect…..Love your colors.

    Reply

  5. Fox
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 21:32:06

    M,
    Thank you for your great comments on tat-ology. : )) I needed the pick-me-up of those kind words.

    You have done a lovely job of Jane’s pattern – I have been hesitant to try this one. Ayway, I do not have the flat beads, so I am safe for now!

    But, I will get around to it, especially as I am so impressed with how good it looks on your page.
    Fox : )

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Posy parade! ~ Posy en desfile « Creativa Suculencia ~ Succulent Creativity

Comment! ~ ¡Haga su comentario!

