Thin wire shuttle and celtic interwoven rings ~ Naveta fina de alambre y anillos entrelazados celtas

The closing date of the April giveaway is getting close! You can still take part – click on the logo below and make a comment in the giveaway post. Will I reach 100 participants? We are rather close…

¡Se acerca la fecha de cierre del sorteo de Abril! Todavía pueden anotarse – pulsen en el logo y dejen un comentario en el artículo del sorteo. ¿Llegaré a tener 100 inscriptos? Mucho no falta… 

So, this is the third post in the “what can I do with the goodies if I win?” series. I hope it answers lots of questions I got about the strangest of the items I am giving away: the thin wire shuttle.

Bueno, este es es tercer artículo de la serie “¿qué hago con las cositas si las gano?”. Espero que conteste las preguntas que recibí sobre el objeto más raro del sorteo, la naveta de alambre.

In the previous photo you can see the shuttle next to a ruler, so you can see its size. It has been filled until the thread is as thick as the shuttle width. The shuttle is then used just like any shuttle to make “normal” rings and chains.

En la foto anterior pueden ver la naveta sobre una regla, para tener una idea clara del tamaño. La naveta se llena hasta que el grosor que ocupa el hilo sea parecido al ancho de la naveta, y se la utiliza como cualquier naveta para hacer anillos y cadenas “normales”.


When you want an interlocking ring, you carefully pass the shuttle through the ring before putting the thread round the fingers, and tatt the ring. When you close it, the rings will be interlocking!

Cuando queremos un anillo entrelazado con el anterior, pasamos con cuidado la naveta por el anillo antes de poner el hilo alrededor de los dedos, tejemos los nudos del anillo, y cuando lo cerremos, ¡los anillos quedarán entrelazados!

Note: read the pictures from left to right, click on the to enlarge them. / Nota: el orden de las fotos es de derecha a izquierda, y pulsando sobre ellas se agrandan.


 

I must say, there is a small “trick” I do to make the tatting with the interlocked ring easier. I will show it here on another ring. Once I have the thread going through the ring and around my fingers, I slide the ring behind them, so they are not in the way. When I finish tatting, before closing the ring, I “backtrack” with the shuttle, going though the first ring but in the opposite direction than before. I hope the next images show you what I mean:

Debo admitir que hay un pequeño “truco” que utilizo para que tejer con el anillo entrelazado sea más sencillo. Lo muestro a continuación, sobre otro anillo. Una vez que el hilo está entrelazado y alrededor de mis dedos, deslizo el anillo anterior hacia atrás de los dedos. Cuando termino los nudos, y antes de cerrar el anillo, “retrocedo” con la naveta a través del anillo inicial en la dirección contraria que antes. Espero que las siguientes fotos ayuden a entender lo que digo:


 

 

 
This process can be repeated, weaving one ring with both the previous ones – or even three. Here I show a piece in process, with one finished four ring knot, and one where only the first three are made, so you can see what the progress looks like.

Se puede volver a hacer lo mismo pero entrelazando con dos o tres anillos previos. En la siguiente foto pueden ver un nudo celta de cuatro anillos, y uno en proceso, con sólo tres entrelazados.
 

The pattern to the motif I have been showing can be found here (in German). We had a long discussion about it last year at InTatters, including an English version. Of course, it is not the only pattern that can be made taking advantage of the thin shuttles!

El patrón del motivo que estuve mostrando se encuentra acá (en alemán). El año pasado tuvimos una larga discusión sobre el patrón en InTatters, que incluso resultó en una versión en inglés de la explicación. ¡Por supuesto, no es el único patrón que puede hacerse usando la naveta angosta!
 

The thread is hand dyed, but not by me but by a friend from Chile. You can ask me for her contact information if you are interested in trying her thread!

El hilo es teñido a mano, pero no por mí sino por una amiga de Chile. Si alguien quiere probar sus hilos escríbamme y los pongo en contacto.

I will finish this post with the finished motif, because I must say I am very pleased about it! Remember: the giveaway closes this Friday 27th, and I will be making the drawing sometime during Saturday 28th April.

Termino el artículo con el motivo terminado, ya que ¡estoy muy satisfecha de cómo quedó! Recuerden que el viernes 27 cierra la inscripción al sorteo, que realizaré en algún momento del día 28 de Abril.

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fox
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 21:24:24

    Oh, NOOOO! Not the celtic knot!! I have struggled with that several frustrating times and though I FINALLY had a finished product, it caused me such grief! I cannot even finish reading this post in one go! (I’ll come back when I can breathe again!)

    Your work is delightful! I now have a headache.
    Fox : 0

    Reply

    • yavamoni
      Apr 26, 2012 @ 13:34:22

      Hey, Fox, don’t make me feel guilty for giving you a headache! You can look away anytime you want😉 I am glad you like my work, though😀

      Reply

  2. Diane Cademartori
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 21:26:08

    That is a fascinating motif! I love your description. If I weren’t in the middle of several projects already, I’d start tonight! ; )

    Reply

    • yavamoni
      Apr 26, 2012 @ 13:35:42

      Ah, the eternal tatter’s dilemma. So much to tatt, so little time! I am glad you find my description clear. I am ready to answer questions if needed!

      Reply

  3. Michelle
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 21:29:55

    Thank you for your lovely detailed pictures and description! I recently made this but I wish I’d known your “small trick”! If only someone would make this with a different color ring for each of the four, then I might get the weaving right. Gorgeous thread!

    Reply

    • yavamoni
      Apr 26, 2012 @ 13:38:45

      Hello my fatithful Micehlle! I saw your mitf a while back. It was cool indeed! That is a good idea about making the knot with four different coloured rings. Each time I have to do one, I actually draw it that way on paper. I did not post a photo of my sketch because I think drawing it myself is what actually makes me “get” it, LOL!

      And glad you find the “little trick” useful. I was afraid I would not be able to explain it clearly.

      Reply

  4. Angelina del Carmen Roa Vinet
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 02:06:50

    se ve muy bien como funciona, cuando yo hago algo donde no entra la naveta corto el hilo dejando un largo suficiente para terminar la labor

    Reply

    • yavamoni
      Apr 26, 2012 @ 13:42:04

      Hola Angelina!

      Es cierto, tambien se puede enrollar y desenrollar la naveta. ¡L@s frivoliter@s somos muy ingenios@s y no nos vamos a quedar sin hacer algo que nos gusta! El patrón original es de un señalador, bastante largo, y sería bastante engorroso hacerlo así – de todos modos a mi me gusta más como queda así cortito.

      Reply

  5. frivole123
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 03:23:25

    I’m impressed! This is one pattern that I’ve still not managed but I’d like to eventually. Thank you for your great post. I may come back and print it for future reference…. when I’m ready to attempt this pattern again!

    Reply

    • yavamoni
      Apr 26, 2012 @ 13:44:49

      Well frivole, you know it is *your* fault I did it! I am proud you like it.🙂

      About the explanation, I considered making a pdf, but for now, it will just be this way.

      Reply

  6. Occasional Crafter
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 04:07:10

    Wow, this is lovely! I’ve tried to do a much simpler pattern with this technique, but with size 80 thread. The problem is that the rings are to small to get anything through them – I was even trying with a little thread wrapped around a thin piece of paper but still couldn’t work it out. Will persevere with thicker thread next time! Your blue loop in the photos – is that to pull the end through so you won’t need to sew in the end? Something else I should do but have never quite got to grips with!

    Reply

    • yavamoni
      Apr 26, 2012 @ 13:49:26

      Yes, Denise, the blue thing is a “floss threader”, that I use to pull the ends under the stitches. My favourite end hiding method, when I can’t tatt over the tails.

      As to doing this with thin thread… check my brother’s album at InTatters to be truly amazed byu the bookmark he did (his username is Andium) (or maybe you have already seen it…?) I really feel no desire to try this with thread thinner than size 40…

      Reply

  7. Lauren Mac
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 08:53:03

    I am delighted to have finally ‘found’ you! This is exactly what I have wanted to learn and I must go back to your post and ‘work’ my way through it again. Thank you! Gracias.

    Reply

  8. chari
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 17:06:34

    Que ganas de intentar este patrón, a ver si en mayo tengo más tiempo y lo empiezo.

    Reply

  9. tattingmargaret
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 17:47:16

    Totally wow, I have read it but I will need to come back again, when tried a Celtic pattern, I got in such a muddle I gave up, I really must try again, it’s a lovely pattern and your method looks so easy.
    Margaret

    Reply

  10. tattingmargaret
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 17:50:44

    Totally wow, beautiful pattern, I have tried Celtic but got in such a mess. I will try the pattern but first I will be coming again to re read your lovely intructions. I must try Celtic tatting again.
    Margaret

    Reply

  11. bjulia4726
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 22:45:13

    I have done quite a bit of Celtic tatting, but nothing like this before. It looks like a challenge and I like that a lot..! Wish me luck…

    Reply

  12. Angelina del Carmen Roa Vinet
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 21:42:30

    me encanto el patrón a ver si en algún momento puedo realizarlo, luego le cuento si resulta lo muestro

    Reply

  13. Sonja from Holland
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:42:18

    I needed 3 days before I understand how to make. But I did!! Made a very nice bookmark. I used net-needles as shuttle.

    Reply

    • yavamoni
      Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:44:15

      Oh, I munched over it for several days too, *and* made the whole knot wrong twice. Finally, drawing it myself with four colours helped me get it.

      Reply

  14. Romina
    Jul 18, 2013 @ 19:37:06

    Acá, estoy viendo las víboritas de la página que me recomendaste. =) Es impresionante la cantidad de cosas que haces. Una genia total…

    Reply

  15. Trackback: Fun swaps, and more! ~ Intercambios divertidos, ¡y más! | Creativa Suculencia ~ Succulent Creativity

Comment! ~ ¡Haga su comentario!

