Knit Optical Illusion ~ Ilusión Óptica tejida

So, I have not been posting much lately… I did make several things, though! Today I show you a recently completed knitting project Here is the ravelry page for it with the technical details.

No estuve publicando mucho últimamente… pero sí que hice unas cuantas cosas. Hoy les muestro un tejido que terminé hace relativamente poco. Acá está la página del proyecto en ravelry con los detalles técnicos.

I used a pattern for a scarf, but I did 4 repeats across to make a potholder/coaster.

Usé un patrón de bufanda, pero repetido cuatro veces a lo ancho para hacer una agarradera/posapavas.

I love how such a simple pattern gives such a clear optical illusion effect!

¡Me encanta que un patrón tan sencillo de un efecto de ilusión óptica tan marcado!

In the next picture you can see the back of the work – the technique I used, called “double knitting”, produces a thick, double sided fabric that has stockinette on both sides. Here is just one link to a series of three videos explaining it. (A search in you tube produces many more, and I did not review them, this is just one of the ones I saw when learning) The technique is fascinating and rather addictive, even if I must admit, a bit slow.

En la siguiente foto puede ver el revés del tejido – la técnica que usé, conocida como “double knitting”, produce una tela gruesa, doble, que se ve como tejida del derecho por ambos lados. Acá les dejo link al primero de una serie de tres videos que la muestran (no encontré ninguno en castellano, perdón… hay varios más en you tube este es sólo uno de los que me sirvieron cuando estaba aprendiendo). Es una técnica fascinate y casi adictiva, aunque debo admitir que algo lenta.

Ok, the last picture is to “debunk” the illusion…

Bueno, la última foto para “desmentir” la ilusión…

On the tatting front, I am very happy that both my giveaway winners got their “loot”, so I look forwards to seeing what they create with it.

En lo que respecta al frivolité, estoy muy feliz de que ambas ganadoras del sorteo recibieron su “botín”, así que espero con ansias ver qué crean con él.

I also have a new small celtic motif designed and photographed… for my next post…

Tambien tengo un diseño nuevo de un pequeño metallón celta que tejí y fotografié… para mi próximo artículo…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Occasional Crafter
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 18:50:33

    Gosh – how did I miss this? I love it! I’m not quite this advanced but I’d love to try it, if I ever finish my first scarf🙂

    Reply

    • Monica
      Jul 08, 2012 @ 18:53:55

      Glad you like it!

      If you decide to try double knitting, I suggest stating with a smaller piece – it felt like it took ages to finish (in reality closer to two months – like you, I don’t usually have long chunks of crafting time)

      Are you on ravelry? I made a smaller thing later, it’s in my projects there…

      Reply

  2. Trackback: A smile without a cat ~ Una sonrisa sin gato | Creativa Suculencia ~ Succulent Creativity

Comment! ~ ¡Haga su comentario!

