Not square, but with a doodad… ~ No es cuadrado pero tiene un cuchuflito…

I joined Diane’s “Doodad double dare“, and got square doodads. Perfect for Frivole‘s “Square elegance“, right? But I had to make things hard for myself. I wanted them as earrings, and the whole design looked too big, so I played with it a bit, leaving some parts out. I am more or less pleased with the resulting shape, but my, it is huge! What do you think I should I do, make the other one the same and hope I find someone with a long neck that falls in love with it, or try to further shrink the design on the second one and then redo the first one to match…? I am mighty pleased with the way the subtly variegated size 20 Babylo thread worked up and how neatly I hid my ends… I think I have just enough thread left from the sample I used to make the other one, too…

Me he unido a una de esas cosas que de pronto todos estamos haciendo en el rincón frivolitero de la blogósfera: El desafío de Diane de frivoletiear algo alrededor de unos cuchuflitos metálicos. A mi me tocaron unos cuadrados – Perfectos para hacer el “Square elegance” de Frivole, ¿verdad? Pero tuve que complicarme la vida – los quería hacer aros, y me pareció que el motivo completo iba a ser demasiado grande, así que juegué un poco con el diseño, omitiendo algunas partes, y logré una forma que me gustó ¡pero quedó enrome! ¿que dicen mis lectores, hago el otro igual y cruzo los dedos para que alguien de cuello largo se enamore de ellos, o trato de achicar un poco más el diseño en el siguiente y después rehago este para emparejar…? Me encantó lo bien que quedó el color sutilmente variegado del hilo Babylo no. 20, y lo prolijamente que escondí los extremos del hilo. Creo que usé casi justo la mitad de hilo que tenía, además…

tatted piece and shuttles
By the way, aren’t the rose shuttles adorable? I traded them with Diane for thread and put them in the photo for scale (they are Clovers) – and to show you how happy I am to have them!

Por cierto: ¿vieron que hermosas navetas? Las puse como escala (son Clovers) ¡y para que vean lo contenta que estoy de mi intercambio con Diane!

Happy tatting, crafting, or however you indulge in creativity!

¡Feliz frivolité o como sea que den rienda suelta a su creatividad!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 10:30:53

    It’s lovely but maybe too big. It could be a matching pendant to go with earrings that are smaller? Maybe Diane would send you one more?

    Reply

    • yavamoni
      Sep 22, 2012 @ 10:48:02

      I agree Michelle, it is a nice size for a pendant. Maybe I can design something to make a set with earrings, even if I don’t use dooddas in them…. I am notoriously bad at earring design, though, but I keep thinking I might be able to do it!

      Reply

  2. Diane Cademartori
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 10:44:14

    I think you’ve done a great job of adapting the pattern, and I love the color of the thread, but maybe a smaller size would work better with that particular doodad, size 60 or 80? Square Elegance is a beautiful design, but a little too large for earrings. Did you see the earrings that Lady Picot made with her doodads? She only joined in three places, using the 4th end for her finding.

    Unfortunately, I don’t have any more of that doodad to share, but I do like Michelle’s idea of matching pendant and earrings!

    Reply

    • yavamoni
      Sep 22, 2012 @ 10:51:15

      Thanks Diane. I would not have you ship again fr one doodad! I will take a look around shops here, maybe I find something a bit smaller and can try with thinner thread too… I have some lovely had dyed that is around size 40 (the one I used in the celtic knot tutorial), I think it *might* go with this.

      I agree, LadyTat’s earrings are superb! I was sort of set on trying Frivole’s elegant design, and she called for size 20… and I actually very pleased with the thread/doddad combo. hm, decisions, decisions…

      Reply

  3. Fox
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 11:10:16

    I really like the look of what you have done before the pointy end went on the design! Could you tat it smaller by leaving the shape rounder, without the pointy bit?

    Nice shuttles! Very feminine in the pink floral.
    Fox : )

    Reply

    • yavamoni
      Sep 22, 2012 @ 11:15:10

      Hey, great suggestion Fox! I had not thought of that… I *may* work! and yeah, I fell in love with those shuttles, even thought “pretty adn feminen” is not how I would usually describe my style, LOL!

      Reply

  4. Jeanne
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 11:44:11

    That is a very pretty color and certainly goes with the doodad. I agree with Fox, if you can find coordinating doodads, then this would work for a pendant, and the earrings would look good without the point at the bottom.

    Reply

    • yavamoni
      Sep 22, 2012 @ 11:48:35

      Thanks for your comment too Leanne!
      I had thought of just putting the threefoil after the second round (ie, skip the chain and three rings that are only in the bottom part and just add the tip) I guess I will have to play around some more!

      Reply

  5. tattingmargaret
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 12:30:53

    Its lovely the way you have done the earring, how about a small thread say 40 or 60 that would make the earring smaller, I think you may have to play a little more but a small thread might be your answer.
    Well done on playing with the pattern.
    Margaret

    Reply

    • yavamoni
      Sep 22, 2012 @ 13:47:43

      I was slightly afraid that if I used smaller thread, the tatting would get smaller and the doodad not and so it would bulge. I could always adjust the stitch counts, of course… I’ll let you all know what I try! Thank you all for your input!

      Reply

  6. Sue
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 16:57:13

    Very nice design!! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Occasional Crafter
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 14:25:05

    It’s lovely! As others have said, it would make a nice pendant. Maybe you could make earrings almost like 4 leaf clovers, with just the central bit of the design.

    Reply

  8. Trackback: In which there is a lot of knitting (and a little bit of tatting too!)~ En el que hay mucho tejido (y ¡un poquito de frivolité tambien!) « Creativa Suculencia ~ Succulent Creativity
  9. Trackback: Square elegance doodad earrings! ~ “Square elegance” aros con colgante « Creativa Suculencia ~ Succulent Creativity

Comment! ~ ¡Haga su comentario!

