Tatting for a baby boy? ~ ¿Frivolité para un varoncito?

My granny used to tatt edgings and embroider super delicate bibs for each baby in the family. Pale blue for boys, pink for girls. They were super dainty…

Mi abuela solía hacer un babero con bordado y puntilla de frivolité para cada recién nacido de la familia.Celeste para los varones, rosa para las nenas, eran el colmo de la delicadeza…

 I wanted to make a gift for a bigger baby boy, though, and dainty was not what I envisioned. This is what I came up with:

Yo quería hacer un regalo para un bebé varón, y la delicadeza no era lo que tenía en mente. Esto fue lo que hice:

 

The patterns are: Jane Eborall‘s TIAS 2011 plane, and Ellen Lai’s  Sun paperclip I tatted the last one with yarn.
Los patrones que usé: El avión de Jane Eborall, y el  clip con sol de Ellen Lai. Este último lo hice con lana.

I am extremely happy with how it turned out!
¡Me encanta cómo me quedó!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kathynik
    May 02, 2013 @ 22:44:46

    In case my first comment didn’t get through, this bib is adorable! Perfect place for Jane’s airplane, and you did a great job on it. The sun is bright and cheery! Your granny would be amazed and proud!

    Reply

  2. Monica (monin)
    May 03, 2013 @ 03:05:58

    que hermosos!! una muy buena idea!! sabes que me contagiaste y empecé con también a probar frivolite!! Por ahora no puedo hacer esos proyectos, pero estoy practicando😉

    Reply

  3. Jane Eborall
    May 03, 2013 @ 04:45:33

    Soooo cute. Karen in SC did much the same with the plane too and showed me when I was over there last year. Thanks for using my pattern. Makes me feel soooo good.

    Reply

  4. aktatter
    May 03, 2013 @ 13:47:06

    clever idea!

    Reply

  5. Cris
    May 11, 2013 @ 15:02:47

    Lo que hacía tu abuela me recordó a algunas “delicadezas” que hacía mi mamá (para Daniel) y a cómo Héctor se horrorizaba: ¡Cómo le va a poner puntillas a un varón! Va a salir mariquita!

    Reply

Comment! ~ ¡Haga su comentario!

